People still associate been single as been lonely and pitiful. When most picture a single lady in their mind, they picture a sad woman surrounded by emptiness and desperate for companionship. To them it is unheard of for a single woman to be fulfilled or living her life. Welcome to my world, I am a single woman intent on having fun and make the most of my been single as of now.

However it is not easy, as there are many stereotypes attached to  been single.  For one, been looked at with pity almost as if something was wrong with you. To been constantly asked about getting a boyfriend until when you feel like screaming at the top of your lungs. Instead you smile and say nothing hoping that would be enough to shut them up.

Then you have to deal with some unwanted attentions from the opposite sex. I have received my fair share of attention and distasteful pick up lines. One of such distasteful pick up lines was, ‘you look old enough, I would love if can we get together and get to know ourselves. I am been serious and not calling your bluff’. That is one of the funniest and weirdest pick up lines I have ever heard. And judging from the fact that it rhymed, it was easy to see that it had been practiced countless number of times by the deliverer of the line. It was made worse by the fact that my privacy at a restaurant was disturbed by the man.

This is just an introduction into the journey of a single woman in the 21st century

