What are junks?

Junks are things that are considered useless and of no value anymore. Everyone has junks, some more than the other, which clogs up our daily life, this entails both physical junk and other types of junk.

For awhile now, I have wanted to take on new activities and goals but couldn’t fit more into my already full schedule. I would start a new idea or project full of potential but would stop half way because it clashed with other existing projects or activities. Recently while browsing the internet I stumbled on an article which was about getting rid of the junk in your life. It stated that the junk in your life had the power to stop you from achieving your full potential in life. No junk is too small or insignificant to be ignored it was important for it to be dealt with swiftly and efficiently.

That was when I realised that in order for me to move forward I had to get rid of the junk in my life, but then I hit a road block. What are the junks in my life? And how would I be able to identify the so- called junks. How would I be able to separate it from those which are valuable and useful? It made no sense to get rid of everything in my life whether good or bad so I devised a plan. I wrote down a list of my daily routine and looked carefully at each. I asked myself one important question. Does it have any benefit?

I was surprised when by the end of that exercise I was able to reduce my list significantly which created space for new ideas, plans and activities. This is an activity I have decided to undergo every six months in order not to fall back into old patterns and replace old junks with new junks.

I realised also that I am the CEO and the Manager of my life, it was up to me to choice my path and make my decisions.

What about you? What are the junks in your life and what are you going to do about it?

